Now that I’ve joined the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge I’m a lot more aware of all things Agatha. This challenge will take me several years to complete since it requires reading all of her work in publication order. I’m not moaning about that. I definitely am happy about it. No, what has me shaking my head is all the “knock-offs” of her novels. And I’m not sure “knock-off” is the right term.

270px-attwn_box1This past week I clicked on the main site for Wikepedia and right there in their feature article of the day was this big picture and a big discussion about new video games (on the right) using the mysteries of Agatha Christie! The first one is “And Then There Were None”. They assured me the game “will retain the basic plot elements of the novel.” The main exception will be the playable character and a set of possible endings to the story. What? Different endings? If you want to read the full story, the link is here.and_then_there_were_none_jpg_232x500_q95

And then I discover there are graphic novels (on the left) of her books. Comic strips of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple? Kerrie, our Challenge Leader read one in an hour and posted her review here.

In addition, you can go to Agatha Christie.com and shop for all sorts of  things. [Just as a side note to my family: don’t buy me a mug or a game or a deck chair that resembles Agatha Christie. A book bag might be nice though.]

I’m sure all of this stuff has been around for quite some time and I’m just now discovering it. I don’t like to think of myself as old-fashioned. I’m just behind the times. I could qualify as set in my ways, though, because I like my Agatha Christie’s to be novels. One that takes time to read and think about and mull over what the one true answer is.

Our Agatha Christie Reading Challenge has a once a month carnival that you should check out. This is where everyone who is involved in the challenge posts what they’ve read the past month. The link is here. If you are an Agatha fan you’ll want to join in.

