I can’t say I love to cook the way some gourmet cooks relish a whole day or weekend spent in the kitchen. My cooking is more the “dabble–at-it” style. But I do love food and everything that goes with it. I love to talk and read about food. I read cookbooks the way I read novels. I collect recipes from everywhere and try them out occasionally. 

I love kitchens, kitchen gadgets, electrical appliances, full refrigerators, cooking pots and pretty dishes. I love the smell of bread baking, homemade soup on the back burner, and a fruit pie cooling by the window. I’ve always had this romantic ideal about my kitchen.

My first kitchen after I was married was small – only about 10 by 10 feet. It was also our dining room. The first thing I did was paint it white and sew red and white checked curtains for the window. I think I got the idea from a picture in a Good Housekeeping magazine. Since that first kitchen I’ve had a galley kitchen, a big country kitchen and a u-shaped cook’s dream kitchen. I’ve loved them all. And now? We live in a 35 foot Fifth Wheel (RV). I’m back to 10 feet long but not even 10 feet across. But, you know what? For this time in my life it is just right. I can still have that fresh bread smell, the soup on the back burner and a fruit pie cooling by the window. Life is good.

Tell me about your love affair with your kitchen. How have you made it work for you? Which kitchen is your favorite?

