My mother taught me to knit when I was about eight years old. I’m so glad she did, because here I am sixty years later still knitting. In many families it seems to be one of those generational things. It is in ours. My oldest daughter knits (the youngest daughter crochets) and now here’s a picture of the fourth generation of knitters. 

100_1330

This is my nine-year-old granddaughter, Q. It just feels so right to see her knitting. She actually picked up this knitting kit last year when she was eight. One of the greatest things about this girl is that she is fearless. This kit is a sock monkey. No boring scarf for her first project! She picked an animal that needs a torso, head, two legs, two arms and a tail. Oh, and there is a little scarf too. I’ve known grown women, experienced knitters, who wouldn’t tackle a project like this. 

Q has worked on this project off and on just like the rest of us in the family. I don’t knit everyday either. But there are days when it just feels right to be knitting. I don’t know what causes the urge. It may be the weather or current events. But I find the rhythm of the needles settles something inside me.

I also find that knitting helps me think. I find that if I have something I can’t quite figure out, if I sit down for a bit and focus on my knitting, the other side of my brain seems to come up with a solution. Eerie. Here’s something else the non-knitter may find it hard to believe: I honestly think I listen better when I’m knitting. Back in my business days I often wished I could have been able to knit during some of those long meetings.

The final product of what I’m knitting is really a by-product of the process for me. Sure it’s great to have a new sweater or a pair of socks. But it’s getting to the final product that brings the joy. But if you are an eight or nine-year-old knitter, making a monkey is what’s fun. And, that should help get her and keep her hooked for many years.

I like to think about my granddaughter knitting in her sixties. 

 

