Being retired has many, many perks. Not having to be in a car at rush hour is one of them. But today I’m recommending you put yourself into a different kind of rush hour. This one is a game and it’s actually a lot of fun. A bonus is that it’s good for your brain as well.

The game is played in the box it comes in. All it takes is a grid, the set of “challenge cards” and the set of little cars and trucks.(It’s all in the box.) The goal is to move my car, the bright red one of course, out of the gridlock of cars and trucks blocking me. Here’s what it looks like.

100_1589

The game is set up with the “challenge cards” that go from beginner to grand master. So, to begin, I take a card and set it in a slot on the grid. Then I line up the cars and trucks the way it is shown in the picture on the card.

Now I figure out how to get my car out of the grid without lifting it up. Actually none of the cars or trucks can be picked up. They can only slide back and forth within their grid. So I move them back and forth until my little red car can drive right off the grid.

Each challenge card has a different way of setting up the cars and trucks so each game is a new challenge. As you go through the cards they gradually become more difficult. The box lists the game as suitable for 8 years old plus. Our 9 year old granddaughter had no trouble with it. Our son (in his upper 30’s) enjoys this game and introduced us to it. That’s three generations who are having fun with Rush Hour. 

It’s made by Thinkfun Inc. We found ours at Barnes and Noble. I don’t remember the price but I think it was in the $15 to $20 range. Give it a try and let me know how you like it.

