One of the  things I like about the blogging world is the ability to be in a community with other like-minded people. It’s been fun to read various book blogs and see their lists and book reviews. It’s similar to peeking in at someone’s nightstand or bookshelf when you are visiting in their home.  Aw come on, I know you do it too.

The book blogging world, I’ve discovered, has all these “challenges” and “carnivals”. I’m always reading something, usually several somethings. Why not join in with others who are reading the same types of books that I am. So I decided to enter a few challenges.  

Here’s how challenges seem to work: I pick the the books I want to read, according to the challenge’s rules. For instance, in this first challenge I have picked 5 books that are about food. Novels about food are not allowed. I’ve told myself not to pick cookbooks so as to, well, challenge myself. (I read those all the time.) Then the challenge owner sets a time limit in which all the books must be read. So here’s my first book challenge.

Books About Food Challenge

ethnic_foods1-11

Between now and March 31,2009, I’m going to read the following books. As I finish each book I’ll let you know what I thought of it.

1. Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise by Ruth Reichl
2. American Fried by Calvin Trillin
3. Something From the Oven: Reinventing Dinner in 1950s America by Laura Shapiro
4. American Pie: Slices of Life (and pie) from America’s Back Roads by Pascala Le Draoulec
5. Comfort Me With Apples by Ruth Reichl
6. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver

I picked six books in case one bores me. If you’d like to join this challenge, visit this site for more information:

