6a00d83451c5ac69e200e55296ac148834-800wiWhat works for me is ROUND STEAK. It is almost as versatile as hamburger and chicken. And, for me, it’s about the same price or less.

I always shop the section of the meat department that is called “reduced meat” or “must-sell meat”. Almost every meat market has one of these sections. I’m retired and traveling all over the country so I shop in lots of different grocery stores. Trust me, the discount section is there. It may be small and off to the side. Just ask.

I don’t know why but round steak always seems to show up in these discount sections. I always grab them if the price is really reasonable. Just today I was shopping in an expensive store north of San Francisco and found three packages that were all less than $2 a pound. One package was only a half a pound but it will work.

I have a prepared list of favorite recipes that all use round steak. So when I find a bargain I’m ready to use it. When I get home from the store I cut the meat into the size(s) I need for whatever dish(es) I’m planning to make. Here’s my list:

  1. Beef and Vegetable Stir Fry – sliced into very thin slices
  2. Beef Stew – cut into 1 inch chunks
  3. Grilled Shish-K-Bobs – Cut in 1 1/2 inch chunks
  4. Beef Strogonoff – cut in strips (1/2 inch by 2 inches)
  5. Beef Pot Pie – cut in 1/2 inch pieces
  6. Chicken Fried Steak – pieces about 3 to 4 inches diameter
  7. Pepper Steak – cut in strips (1/2 inch by 2 inches)
  8. Salsbury Steak and Gravy – pieces about 3 to 4 inches diameter
  9. Filled Round Steak – cut about 4 inches in diameter and flattened
  10. Steak Sandwiches – cut about 4 inches in diameter and flattened
  11. Swiss Steak – cut in 4 to 5 inches in diameter
  12. Baked Beef and Mushrooms – cut in 3 to 4 inches in diameter
  13. Beef Steak Chili – cut in 1/2 inch pieces
  14. Pan Fried Steak and Onions – cut in 4 to 5 inch pieces
  15. Beef Curry – cut in 1/2 inch pieces

I hope this gives you some ideas for your own shopping and meal planning. If you’d like more useful tips, head over to www.rocksinmydryer.com.