shawlFor my mom’s 88th birthday this past May I made this shawl for her. I know it seems strange to make a shawl for someone just as the summer is beginning. But my mom seems to be cold all of the time. She’s especially cold in the mornings and in the evenings when she goes to the little league baseball games.

So I decided she could use a light weight, yet warm, wrap of some kind. I had recently purchased a new book: Knitting Designs by Sharon Turner. I began pouring through the pages to see what I could come up with. I found a stitch pattern and decided to try making up what I wanted.

For the yarn, I chose Knit Picks Andean Silk. It’s a blend of alpaca (55%), merino wool (22%) and silk (23%). It is so soft that just one touch and you want to wrap it all around you. Just perfect for a shawl. The color was a no-brainer because my mother is what we call The Queen of Blue. Everything in her house is blue as well as her clothing. In her life the only things not blue are her beloved roses, her gold Honda, and all her children, grandchildren and great grandchildren. My mom always says “she is one blessed lady”. And that she is.

The stitch pattern is a simple lace. It’s very easy to do. I just cast on stitches until it seemed long enoughkntbk2 – about 72 inches. The stitch pattern calls for an even number so I added two on each end for an edging. I kept knitting until it was 20 inches deep. This was not a hard project at all. It went quickly. 

The book I bought last spring. Except for this project, I haven’t used it much. But I plan to. It has all the basics from simple scarfs, hats, bags, socks, mittens, vests and sweaters. The premise is to give a basic master pattern for an item and then show lots of ways the knitter can design her own project. 

I hope you’ll set off to do your own thing. It’s fun and will give you lots of confidence. You know you can always rip it out and start over again! I’d say that’s the fun of knitting, but that’s not really true. Let me know your knitting experiences.

