nightstandI’ve decided to participate in a monthly book carnival sponsored by 5 Minutes For Books. I love reading what other people are reading and it’s a great way to get ideas for new books to read or old ones to re-read.

Here’s my list of what I’m reading this month:

   1. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. This one is going in my bag on a 12-hour Amtrak trip to visit my mom. Gx, my son’s girlfriend, is very, very high on this book. She knows I love good children’s book and claims, once I start, I will not be able to put it down. 

    2.There’s a Bird on Your Head by Mo Willems. This one is for my youngest granddaughter, Lou. Really. I do love children’s books. Lou, her mommy and I love the Pigeon books by this author but the Elephant and Piggy books are new to us. It looks fun.

    3. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens. I’m reading this for Casual Classics. I’ve only read about 20 pages in and I’m already sorry I’ve never read it before. I always watch it in movie or play form but never the actual book. The author’s use of words is magical.

   4. Pigs In Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver. I’m reading this one just because it’s fun and I like Barbara Kingsolver. This is the book that followed Bean Trees and continues on with the story of Taylor and Turtle.

   5. American Pie: A Slice of Life (and pie) from America’s Back Roads by Pascale LeDraoulec. I’m reading this book for the Books About Food Challenge. This is the story of the author’s travels around the country looking for good pie makers. In today’s take-out culture she is searching for some old fashioned, homemade goodness. 

What are you reading? For more lists go to www.5minutesforbooks.com

