I believe this is my favorite holiday. Except for the grocery stores, there aren’t any big retail or advertising pushes. No special movies or TV specials. The emphasis in our culture is on families and friends getting together. The focus is on being thankful for our blessings.

I have so many fond memories of past Thanksgivings. I was fortunate to be born into a huge family. My father was one of four sons and his father was one of seven. So Thanksgiving would always be at one of the uncles. Of course all the wives and aunts would come with two or three side dishes and two or three desserts each.

And, there would always be a kid’s table. No babies, just the grown-up kids. I remember vividly the first time I was allowed to sit at this table. I sat across from my older cousins Jimmy and Bobby. They were allowed to fill their plates in such a way as I had never seen. First they filled their plates completely with mashed potatoes – to the very edges! On top of that they put all their other food. I was in awe of them. I’ve always been one of those people who does not like my foods to touch. So, I thought, this is what it’s like to be a grownup kid?

How will it be at your Thanksgiving table? Will the kids have their own place?  Or is the gathering a little smaller this year. Either way, may your holiday be blessed. Here’s something else from my childhood. I don’t hear it much anymore but I can’t imagine Thanksgiving without this song.

Come, ye thankful people, come, raise the song of harvest home;

All is safely gathered in, ere the winter storms begin.

God our Maker doth provide for our wants to be supplied;

Come to God’s own temple, come, raise the song of harvest home.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

