6a00d83451c5ac69e200e55296ac148834-800wiMy family and I are big garlic fans. Except for desserts, we use it in almost everything. We like it chopped up fresh, minced in everything from meats to veggies. It’s also easy and fun to grow – especially the big elephant garlic.

But we also love it roasted and I discovered an easy way to do it. This idea came from the never-say-die Crockpot Lady. Here’s how I did mine:  I cut off just the very tip of the entire bulb of garlic. Just enough for the end of the garlic to show. Don’t peel anything. Wrap it in aluminum foil and put it in your crockpot on low. I used my little mini crock-pot which only has one setting. It should be done in 4 to 5 hours. It’s done when it’s squishable.

Let it cool a little. The garlic will be soft but still hold it’s shape. Take the foil off and 100_16531squeeze it into a dish. Now you have this yummy garlic paste. Mixed with butter it makes great garlic bread. You can also separate the cloves, take the peel off and use them whole. My husband’s favorite pizza is Italian sausage and roasted garlic. Try it sometime.

The garlic aroma that fills the house is a wonderful side benefit. I know that lifting the lid off a crockpot slows down the process but on this one I can’t resist. But it does make my stomachgrowl for something good to eat!

For more tips head over to Rocks In My Dryer.

