decades092One of the book challenges I’m going to do in 2009 in called the Decade Challenge. It’s sponsored by 1 More Chapter. This unique challenge works like this: Between January 1st and December 31st the reader picks nine books written during each of nine consecutive decades. Here are the decades I’ve chosen and their books:

1900’s – The Railway Children by Edith Nesbit

1910’s – O Pioneers by Willa Cather

1920’s – Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie

1930’s – The Good Earth by Pearl Buck

1940’s – The Long Winter by Laura Ingles Wilder

1950’s – The Way West by A.B. Guthrie

1960’s – I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

1970’s – The Bluest Eyes by Toni Morrison

1980’s – A is for Alibi by Sue Grafton

It’s taken me a while to decide on my list but now that I have I’m pleased with it. There are a couple of old favorites on there and several I’ve been wanting to read for quite some time. I’m truly looking forward to it. If you’d like to join the challenge, head on over to 1 More Chapter. If you’d like to join in with me on reading these books, let me know. Either way, happy reading.

