simmons-libraryThis is the place where I fell in love – with BOOKS! This is the wonderful building, where, when you walk in, it just puts it’s arms around you and says, “We are going to have so much fun together.” Everywhere you look, you see objects of delight. You can run your hands over the backs of them, pick them up, take them home. This library had that wonderful book smell too. 

This is the Simmons Library in Kenosha, Wisconsin. It’s still standing in a park setting, lush trees and lawns surrounding it. My parents were regular patrons here. I grew up with the confidence that books and libraries would always be an important part of my life. 

I’ve been a regular visitor of libraries wherever I’ve lived. Now that we are traveling around the country we are still regular visitors in both big cities and small towns. At the moment I’m sitting in the Simi Valley, California library sending this to you. The people who work in libraries are also special. They seem to be born with strong genes of helpfulness and curiosity. Library workers also the best examples of good customer service. I’ve listened to them deal with all sorts of questions and requests and I honestly can’t remember one who’s become mad or rude.

So, in honor of my first love, the Simmons library, and because I’m such a library fan I am going to accept the Library Challenge being hosted by the blogger over at J. Kaye’s Book Blog. It’s simple. I just have to say how many library books I’m going to read in 2009. I can choose 12, 25 or 50. I’m going to be sensible about this and pick 25 books. library_challenge-2

To help me reach my goal I have added a page to the top of this site – 2009 Reading List. I’ll record all the books I read this next year and put an asterisk by the ones that have come from the library. I hope you’ll join in with me and keep track of how many library books you read this next year. 

Uh-oh. Did I just hear you say you don’t have a library card? What is your problem? It is the passport to a wonderful world of adventure. It’s about more than books these days. They have music, movies, old TV shows. In fact some libraries let you download books into your ipod or MP3 player. The library in New Albany, Indiana lets you check out pictures from their great art collection. So, get up and get your butt out the door. Go enrich your life. Then come back and tell me about it.

