I love soup. It’s one of my favorite comfort foods. In addition, it’s a great comfortable food. Have you notice that people always seem relaxed and at ease with a soup? Well, maybe not the hoity-doity types, but, you know, normal people. Maybe it’s the casualness of the one bowl and one utensil. I think it’s also the “slurpiness” factor. Everyone around the table seems to have their elbows on the table more often.  During fall and winter I like to make soup (or stews or chilis) at least once a week. Here’s a soup I’ve been making for decades. You can add lots of different options to this soup depending on what’s on hand or your mood. 

                                     Old Fashioned Potato Soup

In a pot put:

  • 4 c. potatoes, peeled and cut into small pieces 
  • 1 c. onion, chopped (you can use less but we love onion)potsoup
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1 t. salt (more or less, depending on your taste)
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 4 c. water (I usually use chicken broth – vegetable)

Cook over medium heat until the potatoes are soft but not mushy. Drain and save the liquid.
In a second pot melt over medium heat:

  • 3 T. butter (you could use oil but I like my dairy)
  • Whisk in 3 T. flour until smooth

Slowly add 3 c. of the potato liquid. OR use about 1 1/2 cups of potato water, and 1 1/2 cups of milk. If I have it, I’ll use some cream or half and half. We like it milky. Stir until it begins to thicken. Mix the potatoes and onions with the thickened liquid.  Adjust the seasonings to your taste.

Sometimes I will add chopped ham pieces or chopped cooked bacon on the top. If you want more dairy you can put a good handful of shredded cheddar cheese to each bowl and then pour the soup over the cheese.

With this soup we usually have cornbread muffins and raw vegetables. Sometimes we may have crackers or a variety of breads, whatever is on hand. Hope you enjoy this filling and inexpensive soup.

