bccookieThe first Christmas I was married (1964) my youngest brother, Brent, gave me a book that has been a special part of my cookbook library ever since. Here is what it looks like today. No covers, food stains on favorite pages and marked for adjustments. In other words, well worn and well loved. It is the Betty Crocker Cookie Cookbook. It was reprinted a few years ago and my daughters now have their own nice new copies. 

The book covers most of the basic cookie types. It starts with what they call a Cookie Primer. It covers basic molded, drop, refrigerator, and bar cookies and hints on how to make that type. I like the drawings interspersed throughout the book to help understand a technique. There are some pictures but not for every cookie. The last chapter is an interesting history of popular cookies from 1900 up through the 1950s.  

Here’s a recipe I want to share with you from my trusty old Betty Crocker Cookie Cookbook. I started making these when my children were little. It’s one they loved helping with – both making and eating. 

                      Candy Cane Cookies

  • 1 cup shortening (half butter)  
  • 1 cup sifted confectioners sugar  
  • 1 egg  100_1696
  • 1 1/2 tsp, almond extract  
  • 1 tsp. vanilla  
  • 2 1/2 cups Gold Medal flour  
  • 1 tsp. salt  
  • 1/2 tsp. Red food coloring 

 

  • 1/2 cup crushed peppermint candy (candy canes)  
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar

Mix together thoroughly the shortening, sugar, egg and flavorings. Mix flour and salt together and add to shortening mixture. Divide dough in half. Add  red food coloring to one half. 

Roll a 4-inch strip (snake) of each color. For smooth, even strips, roll them back and forth on a lightly floured board. Place strips side by side, pressing lightly together and twist like rope.

For best results, complete cookies one at a time- if all the strips of one color are shaped first, the dough of the other strip gets dried out. 

 

Place on a ungreased  baking sheet. Curve the top down to look like the handle of a cane.  Bake at 375 degrees for about 9 minutes or until lightly browned. While still warm, remove from baking sheet with your spatula and sprinkle with a mixture of sugar and the crushed peppermint candy canes. Makes about 4 dozen canes.

Tomorrow I’ll share a recipe handed down from my husband’s mother. And then, on Saturday I’ll share an old German cooky recipe that we can trace back five generations. I hope you’ll enjoy.

