nightstandHere’s what is on my list right now but, who knows, maybe Santa will add something new. 

1. American Fried by CalvinTrillan. One of my favorite authors from when we lived in Kansas City and so did he. This book is about Calvin’s experiences in trying to find good, not ritzy food as he travels. I’m reading this for the Books About Food Challenge.

2. The 5 People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom. This is an audiobook I found at the library. It’s read by the author which I find to be a lot more interesting. I feel like I’m hearing the story exactly as the author intended it to be read.

3. Plain Perfect by Beth Wiseman. This is the story of a twenty-something woman’s visit to her grandparents who are Amish. Her mother left home and raised her outside the Amish culture. She’s seeking more than a connection with her grandparents; she’s looking for peace. I’m reading this for the Christian Readers Challenge.

4. Carrot Cake Murder by Johanne Fluke. This is an audiobook I am going to start in the next day or two. It’s a murder mystery with some recipes thrown in. I’ve some how missed reading this author’s long list of cooking/murder mysteries but it looks like fun.

5. The Long Winter by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I’m re-reading (last read in late 70’s) this old children’s classic in the dead of winter in California. I’m hoping it’s the only snow I have to experience this year. Actually, I’m cold as I’m reading about the snow blowing in through the cracks in their little shanty. I’m reading this book as part of the Reading Through the Decades Challenge ’09.

If you like to see reading lists of other people go to 5 Minutes For Books.

