I hope your Christmas was warm and joyful. How are you spending this day after? I hope it’s calm and quiet. I know some people love the noise and chaos of the shopping malls. I’m not one of them. For me the great gift of the day after is the ability to quietly enjoy reading a new book or starting a project with some new yarn or listening to a new piece of music or all three. 

I also like to enjoy the luxury of extra family that may still be visiting. Our family (both sides) has always been great board game players. We’ve had some great Monopoly, Scrabble, Sorry, Clue, Rummy Tiles, or whatever tournaments over the holidays. Puzzles are a big thing too. On my side of the family we love to play a card game called Shanghai. I’ll have to tell you about it sometime.

I also remember a couple of years when we would all pile into the cars and go to the movies. James Bond movies usually come out about this time of year. Better yet is watching movies at home. Here we can pause when we want or rewind for the really good parts. We’ve always loved creating our own movie marathons, like say watching all the Bourne movies. At home we can also make our own popcorn and other snacks.

But, for me, the best part of Christmas and the day after has to do with children. Their delight in this time of year infects everyone. I know there are a couple of little girls that will spend part of today outside on roller skates and scooters. Here’s hoping they, and you, have a great day after. 

