yos1Every time I think of Yosemite I think of my dad. Since today is the ninety-second anniversary of his birth, it seems appropriate to show some shots of the place. We first saw Yosemite in 1955, just six months after moving to California from Wisconsin. My dad loved his new home state and was eager for all of us to see the best the state had to offer. 

One weekend trip and we all were hooked. It was a five hour drive from home (one way) but we went there as often as possible, often just for a simple weekend. 

We became familiar with all the landmark mountains, with John Muir and Ansel Adams, the Big Trees, and many of the trails and waterfalls. We never camped in the Valley, however. We always camped up at Wawona. We had our favorite spots near the river that we always tried to get. (No reservations in those days.) Back in those old days we could easily gather fire wood along the tree line and have great campfires at both morning and night. Back then it was also easy to spot arrow heads in the woods.

All of the grandchildren were introduced to Yosemite at an early age and almost all are still very passionate about the place. My dad died in early December, 1989 and on the 27th of that month we piled as many of the adults and kids as possible into a huge van and drove up to Yosemite. Even though he was no longer with us we felt it was a fitting way to say happy birthday.

yos2The pictures here were taken by my son Christopher three years ago when he and my husband, Jay, climbed Half Dome. It was something my dad was never able to do but I’m sure he would have been proud of their accomplishment. (If you look closely, you’ll see Jay across the way holding out his arms.)

If you’ve never had a chance to see Yosemite, I hope you’ll put in on your list of “must-see-someday”.

