childhoodI have a passion for children’s books. It is especially nice if I can read them to children. But, if none are available, I will read them to myself. So, I am especially pleased to join Lynda at The Holistic Knitter as she sponsors a six-month Childhood Favourite Book Challenge

The challenge is to think back to childhood and recall the books I loved and re-read them before June 21, 2009. It was hard to whittle down this list but I went with my all-time favourites. (Favourites is spelled correctly. The Holistic Knitter lives in Wales.) Here’s my list as of today. I’m reserving the right to change my mind.

  1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  2. Homer Price by Robert McCloskey
  3. On The Banks of Plum Creek by Loura Ingalls Wilder
  4. The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner
  5. Heidi by Johanna Spyri
  6. One of The Bobbsey Twins books  
  7. Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski
  8. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
  9. Make Way For Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
  10. Blueberries For Sal by Robert McCloskey
  11. Twenty One Balloons by William Pene du Bois

If you also have a passion for children’s books, please join us in this challenge. Visit here to join. Whether you join or not, I’d like to know what some of your favourite childhood books are.

