tag1Beth at Beth Fish Reads tagged me for the Bookshelf Meme. Thanks, Beth. [I read her blog all the time. If you haven’t visited her, you should. It’s obvious she loves to read and she’s a great photographer too. Check her out.]

There are six question about my personal stash of books. It’s been fun to think about the books that are important to me and/or have been with me a long time. Here are the questions and my answers:

The book that’s been on my shelf the longest:littlewomen1

That would have to be Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. It is my favorite book from childhood and is going to be re-read again this year.

 

bluehiways1A book that reminds me of something specific in my life (a person, a place, a time, etc.):

Blue Highways by William Least Heat Moon is the story of a man who traveled the back roads (the blue roads in the Rand McNally atlas) of the United States. My husband and I have always loved road trips but this book planted the seed for what we are now doing in our retirement – traveling the country in our RV and stopping wherever we feel like it. 

A book I acquired in some interesting way (gift,serendipity in a used bookstore, prize, etc.):

more-w-lessI have a “food book” that I have had since 1976. I was a delegate to the Presbyterian Women’s Conference at Perdue University. The book is More-With-Less by Doris Janzen Longacre. Technically this is a cookbook but it’s so much more. It’s loaded with down-to-earth wisdom on food. It has been one of the mainstays in my kitchen. I will review this in a future post. 

A book that’s been with me to the most places:

cookie1

That would be another food book – my Betty Crocker Cookie Cookbook (see my review here). I’ve had it since 1964. It has moved with me to various new homes and the past two years it has traveled with us all over the country. 

 

 

 

 

The most recent addition to my shelves:

4books1

I just got back from the library where I bought four books in their used book sale:

  • Kite Runner by Khale Hosseini
  • Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner
  • Guy Not Taken by Jennifer Weiner
  •  by Hestor Brown

A bonus book that I want to talk about but doesn’t fit into the other questions:

swindoll

This is both a new book but yet an old book: Growing Strong in the Seasons of Life by Charles Swindoll. This is a devotional book I’ve been using since the mid 80’s. I am on my third copy. I literally just wear them out until I’m holding them together with rubber bands! 

And now I get to tag some other people. I want to tag people whose blogs I follow and greatly admire. I’m tagging these people:

  • Molly at The Bumbles Blog – Molly has a fun blog with posts about books and music and movies and funny photos.
  • Fleur Fisher Reads – a UK book blogger. We are in several of the same challenges. She is a big supporter of local libraries, she is widely read and I love her book reviews.
  • Lynda’s Book Blog – I’ve been reading Lynda’s Holistic Knitting blog for a couple of years. I knew she was a big reader because she always lists her current “reads” on that blog. But now she has added the book blog and she has joined a cazillion book challenges. Check out both her blogs.

Here are the rules to this tagging meme:

1. Tag 3-5 people, so the fun keeps going!

2. Leave a comment at the original post at A Striped Armchair, so that Eva can collect everyone’s answers.

3. If you leave a comment and link back to Eva as the meme’s creator, she will enter you in a book giveaway contest! She has a whole shelf devoted to giveaway books that you’ll be able to choose from, or a bookmooch point if you prefer.

4. Remember that this is all about enjoying books as physical objects, so feel free to describe the exact book you’re talking about, down to that warping from being dropped in the bath water…

5. Make the meme more fun with visuals! Covers of the specific edition you’re talking about, photos of your bookshelves, etc.

