100_1617There Is a Bird on Your Head 

  by Mo Willems

  Hyperion Books for Children, 2007

   ISBN- 10: 1423106765

 

How great to have books for children that makes them laugh out loud. Mo Willems is the genius behind the Pigeon series of books that I’m familiar with. My three-year-old granddaughter, Lou, and I are especially enamored with “Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late!” and “Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus!” I was excited when I saw a new, to me, set of Mo Willems books at the library.

This set of books features Elephant and Piggy. As you can see on the photo of the book cover to the left above, Elephant is a gray chubby guy who wears glasses. His friend, Piggy, is a rosy-pink guy with pointy ears and big eyes. I was immediately charmed just by looking at the characters.

The drawings are simple and clean with just the right amount of detail.100_1627The facial expressions and body language allow you to “read” the story without the words. Here’s a picture (to the right) of two pages which should give you an idea of what I’m talking about.

The story in this book is a simple one about a bird landing on Elephant’s head. And then a second bird lands and the story goes on from there. I won’t spoil it for you.

As I did a little research on Mo Willems and the books, I learned that this set of books is intended for early readers. Wow, how much fun to be allowed to  learn to read with these books! The lines are not stilted, even the repeated lines. The book can be easily read with plenty of inflection as the story is told in dialogue between Elephant and Piggy.

I could find nothing negative about this book. It captivated me from beginning to end. As fellow “Nanas” know, that is a key consideration when picking a book to read to toddlers. If they like a book you have to read it over and over and over and over! With this book I won’t mind. The age recommendation is 4 to 8 but I can see my three-year-old loving this. Try it for yourself.

