nightstand

The month of January has been a great reading month for me. I joined a bunch of book challenges and now I’m on a big dash to make sure I keep my promises. Here’s what’s on my list for February:

1. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by by Maya Angelou. I’ve always wanted to read this book and the Classics Book Club has it as the selection for the first Tuesday in February. It’s an excellent tale of Ms. Angelou’s early life.

2. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie. This s the first book published by Dame Christie. I’ve entered a challenge to read all of Christie’s books in order of publication. It’s not a tough challenge as I’m of big fan of hers.

3. Homer Price by Robert McCloskey. This is one of my favorite books from childhood. Homer is a small town boy who’s life is fairly typical. Well, except for the capture of some thieves, a donut machine that won’t stop making donuts and balls of string nearly six feet tall! I’m reading this for the Childhood Favourites Challenge

4. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver. A book by one of my favorite authors. This is the story of Ms. Kingsolver and her family’s adventure in eating only locally grown food for one whole year. I’m reading this for the Books About Food Challenge.

5. Fascinating Stories of Forgotten Lives by Charles Swindoll. Rev. Swindoll has picked thirteen people from the Bible to profile. His goal is to show the significance of what they did even if their names are unrecognizable. This book is for the Christian Readers Challenge.

If I didn’t have all these challenges, what would I be reading? 🙂 If you’d like to see what others are reading, check out 5 Minutes For Books.

