oprahIf you are a working person – Monday through Friday – you can go your entire life and never see the Oprah show. That is, until you retire. That is what happened to me.

I knew who she was. I saw her movies (Loved Color Purple. Cried all the way through it.)  I heard about her book club. I’ve taken the trolley tours in Chicago that will point out the building where she lives. But I never really saw the show until I retired.   

Think about it. The show comes on at, usually, 3 or 4 o’clock. I got home about 5 or 6 o’clock. We had a VCR that we could have recorded her show on but we could never get it to work. Something with the timer. The two or three week vacations every year were not spent in front of the TV. Hence, I never had the chance to watch Oprah.

What have you missed in your life?

