“Thirty-five is a very attractive age. London society is full of women of the highest birth who have, of their own free choice, remained thirty-five for years.”

Oscar Wilde

kayeToday is my sister’s birthday. I’m not really sure how old she is. When we were kids I was exactly 18 months older than her. But now that we are adults our ages have changed. As I have gotten older she has gone the other way. She’s always preferred the late 30s. Her children didn’t think anything of it when year after year she would continue to tell them she was 39. It was the same story to the children she taught in her sixth-grade classes. After a while it became one of the family’s standard jokes. It wasn’t until her oldest daughter turned 30 that she decided to change her age to 49. That’s been a while back so I’m not sure if she’s sticking to that age or if it’s moved in some other direction. So whatever her age is today, I’m wishing her a very Happy Birthday, Kaye.

