grand-tetons-barn-2wtmk

I’d like to introduce you to my first button.*  I feel like a new mom. I’m so proud. (It’s the longest labor I’ve been through.)

This button is the label for my new weekly meme about places that are special. I hope you will join in each Monday and share your favorite places. Feel free to adopt my new baby button for use on your blog. Leave a comment with your blog address and we will all come and take a look at your pictures. For more information see last Monday’s post here.

This week I’d like to share a picture from one of our favorite areas – north west Oregon. This picture was taken from the top of the Astoria Column. You are looking down at the town of Astoria, located north and west of Portland, Oregon.

astoriaYou see both the Columbia River and the Pacific Ocean from Astoria and the 4.1 mile bridge leading to the state of Washington. There is a terrific Maritime Museum in town and some fantastic local restaurants featuring fresh fish. Lots of people like to come and take the Hollywood tour. Astoria has proven to be a popular place to make movies. Some movies filmed here are Kindergarten Cop, Free Willy, The Goonies, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III and many more.

We’ve spent a lot of time not too far from Astoria camping at the Fort Stevens State Park, one of the nicest camping areas in the country. It all makes for a great vacation destination or a nice day trip out from Portland. It’s definitely one of my favorite places.

*Thanks to Beth at Beth Fish Reads for her brilliant how-to-make-a-button post. See it here.

