tuesdaywhereareyouWhere am I? I’m on a farm in southern Appalachia. I’m attempting to feed my family for one year on only what is grown by us or within our local area. It’s pretty tough this time of year. Some things are impossible to get locally such as coffee, olive oil, and grains. But my family and I are determined to make it happen.

I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. For more of It’s Tuesday…Where are you? visit Raider Girl at An Adventure in Reading.

       – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Using the same book, here’s a Teaser from page 198:teasertuesday

“At what point did we realize we were headed for a family tomato harvest of 20 percent of a ton? We had a clue when they began to occupy every horizontal surface in our kitchen.” 

This book is an adventure in both the thought process and the physical labor involved in making a commitment to eat local. This was a huge job for the whole family. I’m glad I read the book and will be posting my review in the next day or two.

For more of Teaser Tuesday visit Miz B at Should Be Reading.

