Sometimes I just need to read a book that makes me feel good. After completing the heart-wrenching I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings (see review here), I was ready for a light romance. I like most of Linda Lael Miller’s books and subscribe to her newsletter. I knew there was a new series coming out and, when I spied the first one at the bookstore, I grabbed it.

cover_montana_creeds_loganMontana Creeds: Logan

Linda Lael Miller

HQN Books, 2009

Genre: Contemporary Romance

This first of three books sets the stage for the series. It introduces the three Creed brothers who haven’t spoken to each other in ten years. They all own interest in a Montana ranch but have been busy earning their fortunes elsewhere. They will all eventually come home and each one gets his own book. The first book is about Logan. Here’s the blurb from the back cover:

“After years of wandering, Logan Creed, a cowboy with a dusty law degree, has returned home. To put down roots, to restore his family’s neglected ranch . . .to have kids of his own  proudly bearing the Creed name.

Divorced mom Brianna Grant has heard the stories about her gorgeous neighbor. So Logan’s kindness with her young boys is a welcome surprise, especially when her ex reappears. And when an unknown enemy vandalizes her home, Logan shows Briana – and the folks of Big Sky country – just what he’s made of.”

In addition to the two main characters I like the two sweet but typical little boys. The author did a great job with their dialogue and other shows of brotherly love. And I think most people will find the two dogs very charming. Warning: this is an adult novel with the use of some F-type words and other adult content.

As an added bonus for cowboy fans, here is a link to a video of the three Creeds. I seriously hope this is what the author used for her inspiration in crafting her three main characters.  Whew – just go look for yourself! (Hey! Just because I’m in my sixties doesn’t mean I can’t admire.) After reading this book, my spirit has lifted and I’m ready to move on with my serious reading. Of course I know there are two more of the Creeds coming in the next few months.